Ladder Faculty

  • Cesar Ayala

    Professor

    Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Economic Sociology, Race and Ethnicity in the Caribbean and Latin America

    Contact Information

    Email    cjayala@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  245 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-267-4306
  • Stefan Bargheer

    Assistant Professor

    Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology; Sociology of Science, Knowledge, and Technology; Environmental Sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    bargheer@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  283 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-9209
  • Jennie Brand

    Professor

    Subfield: Stratification/Mobility; Education; Jobs/Careers; Quantitative Methodology;

    Contact Information

    Email    brand@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  228b Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-1049
  • Karida Brown

    Assistant Professor

    Contact Information

    Email    kbrown@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  297 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-2130
  • Rogers Brubaker

    Distinguished Professor

    Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Theory, Nationalism

    Contact Information

    Email    brubaker@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  232 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-1129
  • Duane Champagne

    Professor

    Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Cultural Sociology, American Indian and Indigenous Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    champagn@ucla.edu
    Office  292 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-2606
  • Steven Clayman

    Professor

    Subfield: Language/Social Linguistics, Mass Communication/Public Opinion, Ethnomethodology

    Contact Information

    Email    clayman@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  231 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-2090
  • Lauren Duquette-Rury

    Assistant Professor

    Subfield: International Migration, Political Sociology, Globalization and Developement, Quantitative and Qualitative Methods, Mexico

    Contact Information

    Email    duquette@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  290 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-267-4965
  • Rebecca Jean Emigh

    Professor

    Subfield: Historical and Comparative Sociology, Economic Sociology, Cultural Sociology, Social Change, Theory, Historical Demography, Quantitative and Qualitative Methodology

    Contact Information

    Email    emigh@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  252a Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-9546
  • Jacob Foster

    Assistant Professor

    Subfield: Science and Technology, Theory, Computational Social Science, Networks, Complex Systems, Cultural Evolution

    Contact Information

    Email    foster@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  204 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-1031
  • S. Michael Gaddis

    Assistant Professor

    Subfield: inequality, race and ethnicity, education, mental health, discrimination, experiments

    Contact Information

    Email    mgaddis@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  285 Haines Hall
    Phone  310.206.6362
  • Jeffrey Guhin

    Assistant Professor

    Subfield: Religion, Education, Theory, Culture, Islam, Ethnography, Qualitative Methods

    Contact Information

    Email    Guhin@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  296 Haines Hall
    Phone  (310) 206-8660
  • Kevan Harris

    Assistant Professor

    Subfield: Historical Sociology, Welfare States, Sociology of West Asia and North Africa

    Contact Information

    Email    kevanharris at soc.ucla.edu
    Office  284 Haines Hall
    Phone  (310) 206-1247
  • John Heritage

    Distinguished Professor

    Subfield: Language/Social Linguistics, Mass Communication/Public Opinion, Medical Sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    heritage@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  234a Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-5216
  • Ruben Hernandez-Leon

    Professor

    Subfield: International Migration, Borders, Race and Ethnicity, Labor, Economic Sociology, Qualitative Methodology, Mexico, Latin America

    Contact Information

    Email    rubenhl@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  247a Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-3059
  • Patrick Heuveline

    Professor

    Subfield: Children and the Family, Cambodia, Formal Demography

    Contact Information

    Email    heuveline@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  214 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-6380
  • Darnell Hunt

    Professor and Dean of Social Sciences

    Subfield: Race, Media, and Cultural Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    dhunt@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  255 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-267-4304
  • Marcus Anthony Hunter

    Associate Professor and Chair of African American Studies

    Subfield: Urban Sociology; Sexuality; Culture; Race, Class, and Gender; Racial and Ethnic Relations; Social Theory; Historical Sociology; Qualitative Methods

    Contact Information

    Email    hunter@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  266 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-7865
  • Gail Kligman

    Distinguished Professor

    Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Political Sociology, Ethnography, Gender, Socialism and Postsocialism, Trafficking and Migration

    Contact Information

    Email    kligman@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  251a Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-7277
  • Hannah Landecker

    Professor

    Subfield: Science and technology studies, sociology and history of the life and biomedical sciences.

    Contact Information

    Email    landecker@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  268 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-1517
  • Ching Kwan Lee

    Professor

    Subfield: Labor, Development, Political Sociology, Global and Comparative Ethnography, Hong Kong, Taiwan, China and Africa

    Contact Information

    Email    cklee@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  270 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-2691
  • Ka-Yuet Liu

    Associate Professor

    Subfield: Social Networks, Medical Sociology, Spatial Analysis, Quantitative Methods

    Contact Information

    Email    ka@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  272 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-267-4967
  • Aliza Luft

    Assistant Professor

    Subfield: Political Sociology; War and Violence; Comparative/Historical Sociology; Comparative Race and Ethnicity; Collective Action and Social Movements; Gender.

    Contact Information

    Email    aluft@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  291 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-2724
  • Vilma Ortiz

    Professor

    Subfield: Latina/o Sociology, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Sex and Gender

    Contact Information

    Email    vilma@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  241b Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-5218
  • Jeffrey Prager

    Professor

    Subfield: Theory/Psychoanalysis, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Cultural Sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    jprager@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  257 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-3743
  • Gabriel Rossman

    Associate Professor

    Subfield: Culture, Economic Sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    rossman@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  287 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-8904
  • Abigail Saguy

    Professor

    Subfield: Gender, culture, law, politics, comparative sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    saguy@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  102 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-794-4979
  • Judith Seltzer

    Professor

    Subfield: Demography; Family; Stratification/Mobility; Life Course

    Contact Information

    Email    seltzerj@ucla.edu
    Office  212A Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-5646
  • Tanya Stivers

    Professor and Vice Chair

    Subfield: Conversation Analysis, Medical Sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    stivers@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  244 Haines
    Phone  310-825-3840
  • Megan Sweeney

    Professor and Department Chair

    Subfield: Family, Demography, Contraception / Reproductive Health, Social Stratification

    Contact Information

    Email    msweeney@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  202 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-7290
  • Stefan Timmermans

    Professor

    Subfield: Ethnography, sociology of health and illness, science and technology, the body, death and dying.

    Contact Information

    Email    stefan@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  266 Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-6526
  • Roger Waldinger

    Distinguished Professor

    Subfield: International migration; race and ethnicity

    Contact Information

    Email    waldinger@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  253a Haines Hall
    Phone  310-206-9233
  • Edward Walker

    Associate Professor and Vice Chair

    Subfield: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Organizations, the Nonprofit Sector

    Contact Information

    Email    walker@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  235 Haines Hall
    Phone  (310) 206-2918
  • Min Zhou

    Professor

    Subfield: Migration and Development; Asian America; Urban Sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    mzhou@soc.ucla.edu
    Office  241a Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-3532
  • Lynne Zucker

    Professor

    Subfield: Rational Choice, Organizations--Formal/Complex, Science and Technology, Theory

    Contact Information

    Email    zucker@ucla.edu
    Office  241c Haines Hall
    Phone  310-825-9155